Attempted Assassination Of Free Speech Campaigner Lars Hedegaard

By • on February 5, 2013

We have just received the shocking news that a gunman has tried to assassinate free speech campaigner Lars Hedegaard.  Mr Hedegaard was awarded the ICLA Defender of Freedom Award at our conference in the European Parliament back in July 2012.  A report can be found at Nyhederne.

We understand that Mr Hedegaard has survived the attempt on his life.

Updates will follow when we have more information.

UPDATES:

Citizen Times gives the following report:

Danish historian and journalist Lars Hedegaard Jensen, chairman of theDanish Free Press Society recipient of the 2012 ICLA ”Defender of Freedom Award”, today narrowly survived an assassination attempt without harm. Police is investigating the case urgently.

At 11:21, a man rang the doorbell at the private home of Lars Hedegaard, pretending to deliver a package. After having handed over the parcel, the man brought out a gun and fired two shots at Lars Hedegaard. Both shots missed, after which the gun jammed. After a short fight, the would-be assassin tried again to fire the gun, but when it still failed to function, the attacker fled and is still at large.

Lars Hedegaard, founder and chairman of the Danish Free Press Society and editor of the recently launched newspaper Dispatch International, has been brought to safety, while Danish police has deployed some 30 officers around his home searching for the perpetrator. He is thought to be 25 to 30 years old, Arabic-looking with dark hair, wearing a red, postman-style coat.

Political reactions condemning the attempt on a high-profile critic of Islam have been swift and firm.

A video report:

LARS HEDEGAARD SPEAKING ABOUT FREEDOM OF SPEECH ON A PREVIOUS OCCASION:

 

FELLOW FREEDOM OF SPEECH ACTIVIST ELISABETH SABADITSCH-WOLFF SPEAKS OUT ABOUT THE COWARDLY ATTACK ON LARS HEDEGAARD:

It is with utmost disgust and abhorrence that I condemn the cowardly, but thankfully failed, attack on my friend and colleague, Lars Hedegaard, the brave Danish advocate of freedom.

This assassination attempt is once again a prime example that there can be no dialog between the adherents of the Islamic faith and us. The tenets of the Islamic faith demand that those speaking the truth about Islam and Sharia law must either convert or be killed. We must urgently realize at the point just how far our freedoms have been eroded: more and more no-go Sharia zones in both the UK and Denmark; assassination attempts on critics of Islam; lawfare against critics of Islam; all of which is aimed at silencing those who stand up for freedom of speech and western liberal principles.

Make no mistake: we will not be silenced nor will we give in. We are resolved in our stand against the forces of evil, we are resolved in continuing our quest for our God-given rights. We are for freedom. We love freedom. We will not submit.

VIDEO COVERAGE:

A MESSAGE FROM LARS:

Friends,

Thank you for the hundreds of facebook messages and mails I have received since a lunatic tried to bump me off two days ago.

I’m in fine shape and hope to return to a semblance of normal life and work pretty soon.

Meanwhile I can only repeat what I have already said to one of the Danish dailies:

I would rather die than shut up.

They may kill us but there will always be people determined to stand up for our most precious right ­ the right of free expression.

Thank you to the hundreds who have have joined our Free Press Society or taken out subscriptions to Dispatch International over the past 48 hours.

We are all in this together and if we stay together, they can never break
us.

Courage!

Lars Hedegaard

MORE INFORMATION:

American Thinker: http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2013/02/m-failed_assassination_attempt_against_lars_hedegaard.html

Atlas Shrugs: http://atlasshrugs2000.typepad.com/atlas_shrugs/2013/02/gunman-shoots-at-freedom-fighter-lars-hedegaard-in-denmark-misses.html

The Australian: http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/breaking-news/danish-critic-of-islam-shot-at/story-fn3dxix6-1226571243542

BBC: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21341878#TWEET584581

Copenhagen Post: http://cphpost.dk/news/national/islam-critic-survives-assassination-attempt

Copenhagen Post: http://cphpost.dk/news/national/police-begin-investigation-attempted-murder-free-speech-advocate

Copenhagen Post: http://cphpost.dk/news/national/media-and-politicians-rally-around-hedegaard

Dk.dr – News: http://www.dr.dk/Nyheder/Indland/2013/02/06/185719.htm

EuropeNews: http://europenews.dk/de/node/63846

Expressen.Se: http://www.expressen.se/nyheter/kan-avsky-men-vald-ar-simpel-terrorism/

Fox News: http://www.foxnews.com/world/2013/02/05/report-gunman-fires-at-danish-anti-islam-writer-misses/

France 24: http://www.france24.com/en/20130206-danish-islam-critic-escapes-assassination-attempt

Front Page Magazine: http://frontpagemag.com/2013/bruce-bawer/lars-hedegaard-escapes-jihadist-assassination-attempt/

Gates of Vienna: http://gatesofvienna.net/2013/02/support-for-lars-hedegaard/

Gatestone Institute: http://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/3578/lars-hedegaard-assassination

The Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/feb/05/danish-critic-islam-attacked-gunman

Herald Sun: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/breaking-news/danish-critic-of-islam-shot-at/story-e6frf7k6-1226571243542

Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/02/05/lars-hedegaard-assassination-attempt_n_2623146.html

International Business Times: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/articles/432126/20130206/danish-writer-hedegaard-islam-assassination-dispatch.htm

Jyllands Posten: http://jyllands-posten.dk/indland/krimi/article5137824.ece

Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2273988/Lars-Hedegaard-Writer-fined-making-insulting-remarks-Islam-survives-assassination-attempt.html#ixzz2K3vlcgW0

The Muslim Issue: http://themuslimissue.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/breaking-news-denmarks-lars-hedegaard-dispatch-international-escapes-muslim-assassination-attempt/

National Review Online – Mark Steyn: http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/339973/when-assassin-calls-mark-steyn

Nonali: http://www.nonali.be/actualite-thematique-et-generale-de-l_islam/tentative-dassassinat-sur-un-membre-de-licla/

Nyhederne: http://nyhederne.tv2.dk/article.php/id-64091656:der-er-affyret-skud-ved-islamkritikers-bop%C3%A6l.html

Politically Incorrect: http://www.pi-news.net/2013/02/eilt-attentatsversuch-auf-lars-hedegaard/

Religious Freedom Coalition: http://www.religiousfreedomcoalition.org/2013/02/05/attempt-to-assassinate-known-critic-of-islamd-lars-hedegaard/

RightSideNews: http://www.rightsidenews.com/2013020531917/world/terrorism/assassination-attempt-multiple-shots-and-misfires-at-islam-critic-lars-hedegaard-arab-perpetrator-suspected.html

RightSideNews: http://www.rightsidenews.com/2013020631919/editorial/rsn-pick-of-the-day/tribute-to-lars-hedegaard-my-friend.html

Saudi Gazette: http://www.saudigazette.com.sa/index.cfm?method=home.regcon&contentid=20130206152179

Sheikyermami: http://sheikyermami.com/2013/02/05/lars-hedegaard-escapes-assassination-attempt/

Spectator – Douglas Murray: http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/douglas-murray/2013/02/an-assassination-attempt-on-lars-hedegaard/

Spectator – Douglas Murray: http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/douglas-murray/2013/02/the-far-left-and-the-attempted-assassination-of-lars-hedegaard/

Spectator – Douglas Murray: http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/douglas-murray/2013/02/the-cowardly-and-hypocritical-media-abandons-lars-hedegaard/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=the-cowardly-and-hypocritical-media-abandons-lars-hedegaard

Steyn Online: http://www.steynonline.com/5420/lars-hedegaard-defender-of-freedom

Daily Telegraph Au: http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/world/gunman-fires-at-danish-anti-islam-writer-lars-hedegaard/story-fnddckzi-1226571216570

Tundra Tabloids: http://tundratabloids.com/2013/02/icla-reacts-to-assassination-attempt-on-lars-hedegaard.html

Up Pompeii: http://uppompeii1.uppompeii.com/2013/02/05/attempted-assassination-of-lars-hedegaard.aspx

Vaka Över Ensamheten: http://nydahlsoccident.blogspot.se/2013/02/lars-hedegaard-utsatt-for-mordforsok.html

Lars Vilks: http://www.vilks.net/2013/02/05/1626-ett-mindre-lyckat-mordforsok/

Vlad Tepes: http://vladtepesblog.com/?p=59259

Weazel Zippers: http://weaselzippers.us/2013/02/05/report-gunman-opens-fire-on-prominent-danish-anti-islamist-writer-lars-hedegaard/

YLE: http://yle.fi/uutiset/tanskalainen_islam-kriitikko_selvisi_murhayrityksesta/6482384